Thrift Share – What A Weekend!

This weekend was a rare treat, I ended up out on the road both days!

Saturday I went with my dear friend Eric, we have very similar tastes in things, except when it comes to lamps.  I know I am partial to really tacky lamps, I dub them “so hellish they’re fabulous”.  Eric thinks I’m crazy.  I came very close to picking up this insane lamp – it was a squaw with a papoose on her back, carved from wood, about 3.5 feet tall without the lampshade.  It was so wrong it was right – Eric absolutely refused to let me buy it.  I suppose cooler heads prevailed.

Individual covered butter dish — HOW CUTE IS THIS? I had to have it.

I have a weakness for cute bird figurines, and that warped deer was pretty
cute, too.  There’s a better picture of that GORGEOUS tin behind them.
Paper Blanks journal – I love any kind of Buddhist art, and this is also
sparkly in some places, even better. 
Melmac serving bowl – in phenomenal condition – LOVE!

I bought these for my friend Steve who collects owls, but they’re so cute
I want to keep them. I’ll be nice and give them to him anyway.
At this amazing estate sale I was told to pack a box full of craft supplies
for $10, and it was a HUGE box, I was just stuffing rick rack and other
great things in there, and when I unpacked later, I came across these
amazingly adorable wood mushrooms.  
Mid-mod snack tray with wooden handles, I just LOVE this! 

This tablecloth came from a flea market a few weeks ago, didn’t post it
then — as I was handing my money to the lady at the table, she told me
this was a Vera tablecloth. I didn’t see a signature or a tag, but either way
I fell in love with the bright graphic flowers, so Vera or no Vera, I love it.
Barometer from Air France Concorde…how funky is this?

My Craigslist white metal Daybed in the studio, also
a vintage wooden sewing box stand I picked up for $10,
right now it’s FULL of unopened vintage rick rack.
Two flowers for my hair and a barely used guitar strap – the colors are
amazing.  

This weekend we are due to go to a Motorcycle show up in Rhinebeck, NY. I am hoping to either thrift or hit a few sales in that area while we’re over there.

I’m linking with Apron Thrift Girl‘s Thrift Share Monday.

About leswatkins

Singer/songwriter, jewelry designer, crystal healer, Level II Reiki Practitioner, avid reader, crappy photographer, married mom of two rockerdudes, lover of life.
This entry was posted in estate sales, flea market, guitar, Thrift Share Monday, thrifting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thrift Share – What A Weekend!

  1. The melmac, the mushrooms, the owls – love 'em. I'm not as nice as you, I'd keep the owls for myself.

  2. I adore the owl creamer & sugar set– I think that company made a whole line of owl items as I own a very similar toothpick holder & spoon rest.The wood mushrooms are amazing too, any ideas on how you'll use them?

  3. I have a few ideas for the mushrooms! Some have floral wire attached, some don't. I might incorporate some of them into one of my art guitars. I was also thinking about using some in a woodland themed "fascinator" for the hair. Maybe earrings? Right now I just like lookin' at them 🙂

  4. Michelle says:

    I really like the Melmac serving bowl. I picked one up similar to that and love it. I also think the mushrooms are adorable and the little bird figurines. Great finds!

  5. SixBalloons says:

    The owls on stumps are sooo cute. You ARE a great friend! Sweet score on the Barometer. I love those old Airline goodies.

Leave a Reply

