Buckle Your Seatbelts, It’s Going To Be A Bumpy Night

Oh man.  Today’s topic for the Spiritual Badass Magic-Up Your Blog 30 Day Challenge is one of the worst questions anyone can ever ask me…”What’s your favorite movie?” That’s right up there with “What’s your favorite book?” and “What’s your favorite song?” Typical Gemini, I like too many kinds of genres, I can’t narrow it down. I can’t even narrow it down to what my favorite movie in a particular genre would be, my husband and I usually settle for ranking things – top 3, top 5, top 10.  It’s easier and a little fluid, which I like.

Here’s a smattering of my favorite movies: The Godfather, Death At A Funeral, Steel Magnolias, X-Men (anything X-Men, really), The Empire Strikes Back, Big Fish, Life Is Beautiful, Moonstruck, The Hangover, Shawshank Redemption, Twenty Feet From Stardom, The Pink Panther Strikes Again, Almost Famous, Bring It On, Philadelphia Story, Carrie, Roman Holiday, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, Ghost… as you can see, I’m all over the place.

My feeling about a movie is this: if I’m in a movie theater and don’t think about ME or my life or anything I have to do that day after the movie while the movie is playing, then it’s a GOOD MOVIE.  My mind wanders, you see.  Anything that sucks me in and makes me feel something, anything – that’s my favorite kind of movie.

But I’ll pick one:All About Eve — that’s my favorite.  Bette Davis is at her BEST in this movie as the familiar archetype of the powerful aging Broadway Grande Dame who is struggling with insecurities about aging and her fading star while dealing with a former assistant who just “steps in” and steals her role and watching Eve’s star ascend.  The dialogue is fantastic and Bette Davis is on FIRE in this role, I think it’s her greatest ever – she’s tough, she’s vulnerable, she’s vicious, she’s sweet, I love her!  Margo Channing is one of my favorite fictional characters of all time.

Sweet Eve — Anne Baxter plays her sickeningly sweet at first which makes her venomous scheming all that more odious when the truth comes out.

Plus, All About Eve has the distinction of being Marilyn Monroe’s first speaking part (little though it is, she still totally sparkles).

Of course, while Eve doesn’t EXACTLY get her comeuppance, she does not have a happy ending, which satisfies the need in me for justice.  It’s one of the greatest movies about show business out there.

I even enjoy the trailer!!!

This leads me to bring up one of my favorite guilty pleasures:  Showgirls.  Showgirls is SO BAD that it’s fantastic.  It has a very similar theme and another one of my favorite quotes after the understudy shoves the star of the show down a flight of stairs to steal her role in the ridiculously choreographed and so tragically 80’s “show”: “There’s always someone younger and hungrier coming down the stairs behind you.”

Do you have a favorite classic movie or trashy guilty pleasure? Do you have a favorite fictional character? Let me know!!

About leswatkins

Singer/songwriter, jewelry designer, crystal healer, Level II Reiki Practitioner, avid reader, crappy photographer, married mom of two rockerdudes, lover of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

